Canada-Bound!

I am very excited for our upcoming trip to Montreal and Quebec City! It is just a few days away and I already feel overwhelmed with all there is to do to prepare. Here are a few things about myself, that will help you all get to know me a little better.

IMG_2990I really enjoy going on a nice walk almost any time of the year (unless it is below freezing!).  Being surrounded by the beauty of nature is so refreshing and it reminds me how lucky I am to live in a comfortable home with a loving family and beauty all around me.  I know that small things like recycling adds up, but it is still hard to face the fact that we are using and wasting so many resources. This earth is our home, so I would like to do even more to keep it pleasant and abundant. Another thing that is central to who I am, is someone who really likes things clean! I find cleaning is something beneficial that I can do when I am upset or just feeling overwhelmed (mowing the lawn is especially calming).  Finally, I am a violinist and have been playing for 10 years. One strange fact however, is that I still get incredibly nervous when performing. You would think that the more you play in front of people, the less frightening it would feel, but the opposite is true for me. This makes it difficult to share my music with others, but afterwards I am usually happy that I challenged myself to perform.

IMG_1737This is a view of the sky from my house. The reason I picked this photo, is to show that no matter where you are, or where you travel to, you will always be under the same sky. In Montreal or Quebec City, there may be a different view, but it is comforting to know that the sky, in a way, unites us all. I am excited to see how the clouds and other aspects of the sky, are different, (or the same) in Canada.

IMG_3983

One of the most important objects I could bring to Canada, are my glasses! When my eyes are not so welcoming of contacts, these are very essential. However, a more important reason to bring these, is because our sight is a very powerful sense we can use while traveling abroad. It is almost magical to “feast” your eyes on a new place, and soak in all of the differences from your hometown. I am so excited to explore the city and take long walking tours where we can fully enjoy the Montreal and Quebec City history and charm.

Leave a Reply

